Take Me with You

Take Me with You

$16.00

Andrea Gibson, 2018

Published by Plume

Only 22 left in stock

SKU: 978-0-7352-1951-9 Categories: , Tags: , ,

Description

For readers of Rupi Kaur (Milk and Honey) and Cheryl Strayed, a book small enough to carry with you, with messages big enough to stay with you, from one of the most quotable and influential poets of our time.

Andrea Gibson explores themes of love, gender, politics, sexuality, family, and forgiveness with stunning imagery and a fierce willingness to delve into the exploration of what it means to heal and to be different in this strange age. Take Me With You, illustrated throughout with evocative line drawings by Sarah J. Coleman, is small enough to fit in your bag, with messages that are big enough to wake even the sleepiest heart. Divided into three sections (love, the world, and becoming) of one liners, couplets, greatest hits phrases, and longer form poems, it has something for everyone, and will be placed in stockings, lockers, and the hands of anyone who could use its wisdom.

Praise for Andrea Gibson

Andrea Gibson’s work is imbued with the unfettered honesty and beautifully rendered language that made them a pioneer in the spoken word community. Their work does not apologize for existing at the intersections. It holds complicated truths together and rejects the false choice of artist or activist. In many ways, my work is only possible because of theirs, and we are so fortunate that they continue to create art and put it out into the world.

— Clint Smith, author of Counting Descent

Gibson does not just show up to pluck your heart strings. They stick around to tune them. If being floored is new to you, ya might want to grab a cushion. Whatever the opposite of fooling someone is, Andrea does that. Beware of the highway in their grace and the crowbar in their verse.

— Buddy Wakefield, author of Gentleman Practice

About Andrea Gibson

Biography ANDREA GIBSON (they/them/theirs) is a queer author of five full-length collections of poetry, including Lord of the Butterflies (Button Poetry 2018) which sold over 20,000 copies worldwide. Winner of The Independent Publishers Award in 2019, Andrea is… MORE

Additional information

Weight4.8 oz
Dimensions7 × 4.2 × .52 in
Publication Date

January 23, 2018

Format

Page Count

208

Author Hometown

Boulder, Colorado

ISBN

978-0-7352-1951-9

You may also like…